My first 20-something hours of Paleo

by debraatuow

Greetings.

After recently discovering Paleo I decided that is the way I would like to eat. I was sick of eating loads of crap, and food making me feel crappy, when it should be making me feel good! So here we are.

Where possible I will upload photos and recipes of the food that I have eaten. Warning: this post will just be me listing what I have eaten so far.

Last night for dinner I had coconut chicken, broccoli and carrot, with garlicy mushrooms and spinach. Here’s how I did it:

  • Cut chicken breast, thigh, whatever into little bits (or keep it as a big piece if that’s what you want).
  • Coat in egg, then cover in almond meal (aka almond flour)
  • Cook in a pan with butter or coconut oil or lard or something similar
  • Prepare your veggies (I chose broccoli and carrot but you can have whatever you want) how you like them (I cooked mine in a pan)
  • Add some butter/coconut oil/lard/etc to a smaller pan/pot and cook up some mushrooms, and add some minced garlic
  • Right before all this is done, stir in some spinach into the garlicy-mushroomy-goodness

And there you have it!

For breakfast, I had a sausage, a bit of bacon, cooked tomato and an egg in a capsicum with salt, pepper and dried chilli which I cooked under the grill. I didn’t really like this, so I think I’ll need to find the best way to cook eggs since I’m not such a huge fan. Plus I had some watermelon and blueberries.

My first Paleo breaky

For lunch/a snack, I had some avocado, a bit of diced tomato and a tin of tuna with sesame seeds. I fricken love sesame seeds. I also love black rice, but I don’t think that’s really Paleo so I’m pretty bummed. I’ll eat little tiny bits of it over a long period I guess, cause I don’t want to throw it out.

So there’s an idea of what it’s like to eat following a Paleo diet. I’m very excited and inspired by it, and I cannot wait to get more healthy. I actually look forward to eating food now.

Until next time
– Debra.

