So I probably cheated a bit this weekend

by debraatuow

Hi! Sorry for not posting for a couple of days – I’ve been busy working and volunteering and stuff. I’ll fill you in on how my weekend went.

Friday I was volunteering at a local festival, setting up decorations and stuff and making the park look all nice. That was at 9, so seeing as I got up at 7:30 I didn’t feel like eating, so I only had a banana and some almonds. Around 11 I had a bit of tuna, tomato and avocado but found it meh.

So, my first proper meal for the day was at 4:30pm! I had a chicken bacon bowl thing that I got from here. I had sweet potato, potato, chicken, bacon, zucchini and a bit of tomato. (I think I eat too many potatoes).

Filled me up for the rest of the day! …and I need to get better at taking photos of food.

I don’t remember what else I had on Friday… probably some almonds/blueberries/watermelon.

Saturday I was supposed to be at the festival at 6am to help with bump in, but I was exhausted… so I got there at 9. And I was supposed to stay til 12, but I left at 11:15. Yeah… hah. But, I tried to make Paleo pancakes when I got home. This is the third Paleo sweet thing I’ve made and it was just… crap! I hated it. It was really eggy and yuck. I just wanted some pancakes. ):

If anyone has any good recipes for Paleo baked goods or sweets, please send them my way! I have failed to make good muffins, good brownies and now good pancakes…

Before I left for work on Saturday I made some Paleo spaghetti. But instead of using spaghetti squash (cause I have no idea what that is and I don’t think I’ve ever even seen it in the store before), I used zucchini. And I burned one of my pots making the sauce … oops.

It is hard to follow the Paleo diet when you are at my house. So much bread… So much pasta… So much everything-that-I-can’t-eat. But I was still full from my failed pancakes/not-too-bad spaghetti so I didn’t have any food after I got home.

Sunday morning I was a bit worried about what I’d have for breakfast. There was so much bread and cereal and other gluteny-lactosey-soy-y stuff. But, I settled for 2 sausages, 2 eggs (scrambled) and cooked sliced tomato. Mmmm.

I told my dad how I was cutting out gluten/diary/soy/whatever and I have actually started to care about what I eat. He thought it was good, so I’m glad he doesn’t think I’m mental for not eating bread or milk any more!

Mum had bought some nut slice thing from the market, and I had a square sometime in the afternoon. It was definitely not Paleo. And it totally was not even worth it. I mean it was alright, but I easily could’ve gone without it. Ah well.

I went over to my SO’s house for dinner with his family last night. We had steamed carrot and broccoli, mashed potatoes (it had soy milk in it so I didn’t have any), and I had a rissole, a piece of chicken and a lamb chop. In hindsight the rissole probably wasn’t Paleo, pretty sure you coat those things in flour. My bad

Then they mentioned waffles for dessert, and I was like omgfriggenwafflesyummm, but cause I couldn’t eat any they didn’t want to be rude, so they didn’t make them. d:

But, I had the best mango I have ever eaten last night. IT WAS SO GOOD. I needs me some mangoes.

Eggs therefore breakfast, right?

For breaky today, I had some of my spaghetti from the other day, potato/sweet potato, carrot and capsicum and 2 scrambled eggs. It actually looks more like a dinner than a breakfast… but eggs totally makes it a breakfast. This was actually way too much food and I didn’t finish it, plus it was a weird breakfast… might go have some paleo cereal right now.

Things I need to do today:

  • clean my room
  • polish my shoes
  • go for a swim
  • go food shopping
  • buy a food processor

And I heard dark chocolate (70%+ cocoa) is okay for Paleo… awww yeeeaahh.

